Content > Learning Modules > Copy and Move Learning Modules

Copy and Move Learning Modules

Content Items, including Learning Modules, can be copied or moved from one area or Course to another area or Course. If copying or moving between courses, both Courses must belong to the Instructor. Copying content does not delete the Learning Module from the original location in the Course. Moving a Learning Module removes it from its original location.

Some Content Items have copy and move restrictions. For instance, Course Links can only be copied or moved to another area within the same Course. Assignments, Tests, and Surveys cannot be copied, but can be moved within the same Course. Assessments which are part of a Learning Module that is copied will automatically have links to the original assessment created.

If a Learning Module contains items that cannot be copied, such as a Test,Survey, or Assignment, a link is created to it instead. After the Copy action is complete, a message appears: "Some items copied. The following items were created as links:" and the specific items are listed.

If an item, such as a Learning Module contains items that cannot be moved to another Course, such as a Test, a message appears: "The move operation has completed but the following items could not be successfully moved." The specific items are listed.

To Copy a Learning Module:

  1. Access the Content Area, Learning Module, Lesson Plan, or folder containing the Learning Module to copy.
  2. Ensure Edit Mode is ON.
  3. Click the Learning Module's Action Link to access the contextual menu.
  4. Select Copy.
  5. On the Copy page, select the Destination Course from the drop-down list. The default setting is the current Course. Only courses where the Instructor has a role permitting copying content appear in the list.
  6. Click Browse to select the Destination Folder.
  7. Select Yes or Nofor Create links for items which cannot be copied.
  8. Select Yes or No for the Copy Alignments option.
  9. Click Submit.
  10. For items that could not be copied, a message appears: "Some items copied. The following items were created as links:" and the specific items are listed.

To Move a Learning Module

Instructors can move Learning Modules from one of their Courses to another Course, and from one area to another in the same Course.

To move Learning Modules: 

  1. Access the Content Area, Learning Module, Lesson Plan, or folder containing the Learning Module to move.
  2. Ensure Edit Mode is ON.
  3. Click the item's Action Link to access the contextual menu.
  4. Select Move.
  5. On the Move page, select the Destination Course from the drop-down list. The default setting is the current Course. Only courses where the Instructor has a role permitting copying content appear in the list.
  6. Click Browse to select the Destination Folder.
  7. Click Submit.

 

Next Steps