Help for Instructors > Grade Center > Using the Grade Center > Deleting and Reverting Grades

Audience: Instructors

Deleting and Reverting Grades

In a course, an Instructor may need to delete a grade or revert a grade back to its previous state, such as resetting a test to give a student who experienced technical problems another chance. The Instructor may accomplish these tasks through the Grade Center. Grades that have been deleted have the Override Grade and associated comments deleted.

How to Delete a Grade from the Grade Center Page

Grades can also be set to null by typing the NULL character in the cell.

  1. Click within the graded cell.
  2. Press DELETE or BACKSPACE to delete the grade.
  3. Press ENTER. If ENTER is not pressed, and the user attempts to exit the entry cell or Grade Center, a dialog box is shown asking if the user would like to save the grade entry. If so, in the dialog box, select OK to save the grade.
  4. Click OK to null the Grade Value. Grades that are set to NULL display a dash ( - )

How to Delete a Grade through the Grade Details Page

  1. From the contextual menu next to a graded item, select View Grade Details.
  2. Click Clear Attempt on the Edit tab.
  3. Click OK.
  4. Click Return to the Grade Center.

How to Revert a Grade

Grades that have been overridden are reverted to clear a previously entered override, and then display the appropriate attempt grade if one exists.

  1. From the contextual menu next to a graded item, select View Grade Details.
  2. Click Revert. A warning message appears asking the user to confirm the action.
  3. Click OK.
  4. Click Return to the Grade Center.