Adaptive Release

About Adaptive Release

Adaptive Release of Content provides controls to release content to users based on a set of rules provided by the Instructor. The rules may be related to availability, date and time, individual users and user groups (such as course Groups), scores or attempts on any Gradebook item, or review status of another item in the course.

This feature may be used by all Instructors and course developers. Some Instructors and course developers may choose to take advantage of advanced rule functionality to create sophisticated combinations of release rules on items. Others may utilize the basic rule functionality to release content to specific users or groups and/or to allow users to view content based on their performance on an assignment.

The following options are available:

Adaptive Release rules and criteria

An Adaptive Release rule consists of a set of criteria that defines the visibility of a content item to users. Criteria are the parts that make up the rule. For example, date and membership are two types of different criteria. Each content item may have multiple rules, and each rule may consist of multiple criteria. To view an item, a user must meet all of the requirements of the rule. This means that if a rule has multiple criteria, the user must meet all criteria before the item is available.

For example, the Instructor may add an Assignment to a course. One rule for this Assignment may allow all users in Group A to view the Assignment after a specific date. This rule would consist of Membership criteria and Date criteria. Another rule for this Assignment may allow all users in Group B to view the Assignment once they had completed Homework #1. This rule would consist of Membership criteria and Gradebook criteria.

 

Note:  Only one Membership criteria and one Date criteria may be created for each rule. Multiple Gradebook criteria and Review Status criteria may be added to each rule.

Enable and disable the Adaptive Release feature

The System Administrator controls the availability of the Adaptive Release feature. If this feature is made available, course developers may add either basic or advanced Adaptive Release Rule.

If the Adaptive Release tool is disabled by the Administrator, all rules that have been created will disappear. Also, Adaptive Release related links on the Manage page will no longer appear. If the tool is later re-enabled, the links on the Manage page will reappear and any data associated with Adaptive Release (such as the rules) will be saved. Any Adaptive Release rules that had previously been set also re-appear.

Visibility of items with Adaptive Release rules

Once any Adaptive Release rules have been established for an item, visibility of that item is restricted to those users who meet the criteria of those rules.

For example, the Instructor creates a content item called “Introduction” and makes the item available in Course Documents. At this point, all course users would be able to see Introduction. The Instructor then creates a rule restricting the item to Group A users. Now, only members of Group A can see Introduction—all other course users (who are not a member of Group A) do not see Introduction. The Instructor then adds other criteria to this rule, restricting it to Group A members who have received at least an 80 on Test #1. Now, only members of Group A who have also received an 80 or greater on the Test #1 will see Introduction. All other course users, including Group A members who scored less than an 80 on the Pre-Test, will not see Introduction.

If no Adaptive Release Rules have been created, the item is available to all users in the course depending on the item availability and date / time availability set on the Add Item page.

View availability of an item on User Progress page

Instructors may create one or more Adaptive Release rules which narrow the availability of a content item. It may be difficult to remember which users in a course may access each piece of content. The User progress page displays details on the visibility of a content item and the Adaptive Release rules pertaining to it.  For example, this page lists the visibility of an item on a user-by-user basis. If Review Status is enabled for the item, an icon is displayed to show whether the user has reviewed the item or not along with a date and time stamp for when the review was registered for that user.

If no Adaptive Release rules have been created for that item, the visibility column is based simply on availability of the item itself. For example, if the item is available, the Visible icon is displayed for all users.

Differences between basic Adaptive Release and Advanced Adaptive Release

Advanced Adaptive Release allows users to create multiple rules per item. If a user wants to create different criteria for different users on the same item, the user will need to create more than one rule. For example, if different rules apply for different Groups in a course Advanced Adaptive Release is used. The Instructor may set up a rule for Group A that enabled all users in the Group to view an item once they receive an 85 on a Test. The Instructor may set up a separate rule for Group B that enables them to see the same content item after they receive an 80 on the Test. 

Unavailable items and Adaptive Release rules

Item availability set on the Add Item page supersedes all Adaptive Release rules. If the item is unavailable, it is unavailable to all users regardless of any rules established. This allows course developers to build out their rules and only make items available when they are finished with rule creation.

View content with rules through the course

If Instructors view Content Areas through the course as a Student would (as opposed to through the Control Panel or Quick Edit), their view is based on item availability and Adaptive Release rules. For example, if Adaptive Release is used to make an item available to a Group, and they are not a member of the Group, they will not see the item if they access it through the Course Menu. The same is true for unavailable items. If an item is added to a course, but is not made available, the Instructor will not see it when they access the Content Area through the Course Menu.